Me Made May 2014

My Sewing Odyssey

A little over a year ago I began sewing my own clothes.  I can’t quite remember anymore what the exact impetus was for this but I’m pretty sure it had something to do with the difficulty I had finding clothes that were 1) age appropriate  2) suited to both my casual lifestyle and the Arizona heat and 3) cute!   I already knew my way around a sewing machine because I had been an avid quilter for many years.  So I dove in and was quickly hooked.

Because so few people make their own clothes (I don’t personally know anyone) I became ensconced in a vibrant online community of sewists (yes, that’s the word) from all over the world.  Each year a blogger in this community hosts a challenge entitled “Me Made May” in order to encourage sewists to actually wear their handmade garments and stretch their sewing skills. Participants’ reasons for joining the challenge are as varied as the individuals themselves but each participant makes a published pledge to be a part of the challenge.  Here’s mine:

I, lisainaz, sign up as a participant of Me-Made-May ’14. I endeavor to wear one handmade garment each day for the duration of May 2014.

In support of my efforts, I received this wonderful early Mother’s Day gift from my daughter Anne:

DSCN0053

My plan is to document my journey through Me Made May 2014 and maybe inspire some readers to join me in getting away from fast fashion and creating a handmade wardrobe.  So with only two days to go, here’s a preview:

DSCN0058

My intention is to publish pictures of me actually wearing my garments but right now my photographer/husband is at work 🙂

 

3 thoughts on “Me Made May 2014

  1. I also struggle to find clothes that are age appropriate, fit well and are cute. And it’s extra hard when one is petite. Let me know when you are ready to take orders for custom-made clothes…. 😉

    Like

Leave a Reply

