Keeping It Real

One of the last things I wanted to take care of today before heading out of town was to bake some kid-friendly goodies to take with us to my friend Rachel’s house when we visit tomorrow evening.  I figured I would whip up some cookies because they are fast and easy and can travel in a food saver.  While I considered trying out the brown butter coconut cookies that have been on my radar of late I decided to just make good old-fashioned chocolate chip thinking they would have the greatest kid appeal.  I haven’t made chocolate chip cookies in probably a decade, and I couldn’t resist using these fabulous bittersweet chips:

DSCN0866

I don’t know why I didn’t just go with the tried and true Nestle Tollhouse cookies.  Hubris! Ego! I wanted to use the “good stuff”.

Back in the day I probably made chocolate chip cookies with butter and eggs out of the fridge, using a hand mixer, all purpose flour and processed cane sugar.  This time I brought everything to room temperature, used the gluten-free flour and organic sugar and mixed it all up in my Kitchen Aid.  I should have stopped when I noticed that the dough was looking too thin (probably from being beaten into submission in the mix master) .  And here’s what happened to the first batch:

DSCN0854

The recipe on the back of the Ghirardelli chips said to use an ungreased cookie sheet.  My Williams-Sonoma cookie sheet did not like these cookies one bit.  What a mess.  In reaction to this first batch, I put the dough in the refrigerator for a while and cooked the second batch on the non-stick pan:

DSCN0863

Uhh. No.  Can we go back to the peach pie now??

Luckily I was able to salvage enough (reasonably tasty) cookies to bring with us:

DSCN0871

I don’t even want to eat them; I probably consumed several just trying to scrape them off the pans!

I’m not sure where I went wrong with these and I’m not even that curious about it.   I do feel disappointed though that I struggled with such a simple recipe.  I’m reminded of many episodes of Top Chef where contestants are challenged to take the most simple ingredients (eggs, chicken, potatoes) and make them taste amazing.  The professionals don’t always get it right either.

And on that note, it’s time to hit the road….Finally!

Leave a Reply

