Is Bigger Better?

OK, let’s face it.  Anyone who has grown zucchini has, at some point, gone a little bit off-color.  After all, look at this:

DSCN1105

Our zucchini plant (singular) has had a pretty impressive late season surge.  Once we pulled out all the dead-for-the-season other plants this one just took over, slowly spreading over our entire raised bed.  Check it out:

DSCN1175

And our happy plant has produced some pretty large zucchini.  Luckily there are many recipes out there (some of which I’ve already blogged about) for playing around with it.  Last night for dinner this:

DSCN0853

became this:

DSCN1172

This stunningly simple sauté has just three ingredients–matchstick-cut zucchini, slivered almonds and olive oil.  After a sprinkling of salt and pepper on the warmed-through dish you’ve got a great side for any protein.  It’s simply delicious. We matched ours with pork tenderloin and some quinoa salad.  The recipe is an oldie but goodie from Smitten Kitchen and you can read all about it here.

Today I used Mr. Sumo Zucchini (from the photo up top) for two  zucchini breads.  They just came out of the oven:

DSCN1187 - Version 2

I used this recipe and added pecans and raisins because that was what I had on hand.  I also subbed in my usual gluten-free Cup 4 Cup.  I’m dying to cut myself a slice, but I’d better let them cool down first.  If they taste half as good as my kitchen smells right now we’ve got a winner.

So is bigger better?  Who knows.  I’m pretty sure they’re both delicious, but then again it really does depend on what you’re in the mood for 🙂

2 thoughts on “Is Bigger Better?

  1. Ooooh……I want that bread! Looks yummy! You’ve also inspired me to try a zucchini sauté. Never cooked it that way before. I wish I had garden zucchini. It’s really gotten too expensive in the store. Alas, no gardens on my city deck.

    Like

Leave a Reply

