Hooray For Black Bean Burgers!

I know that with my daily “what we had for dinner” blogging I am coming perilously close to the social media craziness that I have managed to avoid for many years.  But I am giving myself a pass because I truly believe I am doing a public service by sharing these recipes.  This was my second attempt to make a flavorful and texturally delicious black bean burger (the first, which I also blogged about, was a fail).  This recipe, found here  (a gorgeous blog by the way) combines black beans with red quinoa and the burgers are baked, not fried or sautéed.

I followed the recipe pretty much as written except I used a real egg instead of a substitute and I left out the grated beet which was only for color.  This recipe is good for only two people and a little short on leftovers.  Next time I will double it.  Here’s how the dish turned out on my plate…

DSCN1767

and on David’s:

DSCN1769

The burgers were firm throughout and had a bit of a “crust” from the brush of olive oil before baking.  The flavors from shallots, garlic, cumin and coriander were terrific.  We ate these with Chipotle Mayonnaise.  Ooh, so delicious. The recipe uses a jarred version but I chose to make my own from a Bobby Flay recipe.  It’s got great kick and adds a lot to the dish.  The recipe for the mayo is here.   As an aside, since we’ve gone veggie, our food processor is getting a workout and we haven’t turned on the grill once.  Different tools for different cuisine…

So I will sign off with my usual recommendation to give this recipe a try.  I’m planning to spend the rest of the evening doing something other than blog about our dinner.

 

Leave a Reply

