Vogue 1247

Sounds impressive, right?  I think the word “Vogue” anything conjures something fashionable and current.  Since I started making my own clothes and using all kinds of patterns,  Vogue Patterns has become synonymous with “pretty nice design” and “unnecessarily convoluted directions”.  Sheesh.  Luckily all turned out well in the end with Vogue 1247.  Here’s the pattern (which they tell you is “cutting edge” in case you aren’t sure):

DSCN1794 - Version 2

I made the skirt, which is oh-so mini in this photo.  I probably wouldn’t have considered this pattern except that it is universally loved by so many pattern reviewers on patternreview.com, my go-to site for the inside scoop on patterns.  The tips received there are invaluable and help save time and money.  On this one,  most people  added lots of length to make it wearable.  I did the same, and here’s my version:

DSCN1782 - Version 2

I really like it!  The fabric I chose is a stretch denim from Joann’s.  I wanted something with some darker colors that could also transition into fall in Arizona (warm, not hot).  I can imagine wearing this with a denim jacket and tank or three-quarter sleeve tee.  Here’s a close-up of the fabric:DSCN1791

This is the back of the skirt which has an invisible zipper.  I finally bought an invisible zipper foot and used it for the first time on this skirt.  Technically you shouldn’t see the zipper at all when it’s done exactly right but this wasn’t bad for the first time.

As I mentioned, the Vogue directions are notoriously convoluted and often inaccurate.  I’m glad that I have enough experience at this point to do my own thing at times.  This pattern calls for using bias binding to enclose inner seams.  I went along with that here:

DSCN1787

and here:

DSCN1788

I guess some people find this to be an appealing design element (on the inside??) but I kind of thought it was a waste of time.  I finished the rest of the seams with my serger.

I do really like the design of the low pockets in the front of this skirt:

DSCN1789

It’s a little like a tool belt for the gals.  NOT.  Now that I think about it though, it’s not a bad place for my i-phone.

Well that’s all she wrote for Vogue 1247.  I’m off to add my two cents on Pattern Review…

7 thoughts on “Vogue 1247

  1. I’ve enjoyed reading your blog while waiting for my granddaughter to wake up. Nice skirt. I’ve only tried one Vogue pattern was a disaster. Your skirt is nice. I like your fabric too. I think the inside bias tape would be too picky for me too. Thanks for sharing. Found your blog from PR.:)

    Like

  2. Pockets are the best. I think that’s a perfect place for your iPhone, especially since the fabric is busy enough and heavy enough that you won’t be able to see the outline of the phone. 🙂

    Like

  3. I love this skirt! It might be my favorite one yet. Pocket placement IS perfect 🙂 Please trot it out again for us in your “Arizona winter” outfit with the denim jacket. Sounds great.

    Like

Leave a Reply

