Lunch Salad Vegan Style

DSCN2066

Curried Chickpea Salad!

I am so glad I found this recipe.  I love creamy salads for lunch.  I’ve been missing some of my pre-vegan recipes–sweet chicken salad, dilled shrimp salad and basic tuna with celery.  I’ve been eating black bean burgers and leftover falafel and enjoying them thoroughly, but both require night-before prep.  I did try one old chicken salad recipe using Gardein Chickn strips:

DSCN1810

Doesn’t look bad but way lacking in texture and without the Hellman’s, well, not a score.  I tried this a month ago when I hoped that veganized dishes would taste a lot like the original.  Overblown expectations.  Plus, I’m not sure if the “fake meat” thing will be for me.  We’ll see.

So the curried chickpea salad seemed promising, not only because I like all the ingredients but because I had no pre-vegan equivalent in my repertoire.   Plus I really like creamy curry dressings (and you don’t need the Hellmans!).

This recipe requires no actual cooking and you can even get away without getting out the food processor.  The ingredients of the salad include two cans of chickpeas (partially mashed up), chopped carrots, scallions, raisins and toasted cashews:

DSCN2063

For the dressing I used a blend of tahini (thinned with water), lemon juice, curry powder (I used Trader Joe’s which has a nice kick) and garlic powder.  The result is a very tasty salad made from ingredients that I almost always have on hand.  A perfect replacement for the tuna on toast.  If you’re a chickpea fan I think you will really enjoy the mix of textures and creamy curry dressing.  Give it a try!

8 thoughts on “Lunch Salad Vegan Style

  1. Yum yum! I’ll definitely be making this soon–I’m going to need some salad-type items that I can just scoop into a tupperware and bring with me for lunch and possibly also dinner over the next month!

    Like

    • I just cooked a (farmers market) sweet potato that I cut into 1 inch pieces, tossed with a little bit of coconut oil and sea salt, then roasted, covered at 400° for about 25 minutes. Added a touch of peanut butter. Heaven. And vegan 🙂
      Coconut oil ROCKS!

      Like

Leave a Reply

