How We’ll Be Eating Our Sweet Potatoes This Year

DSCN2191

In soup! So bright and seasonal. So delicious.

I’ve been looking for a recipe for a sweet potato soup to serve at Thanksgiving.  My original plan was to trot out my mushroom barley soup which is an absolute no-fail, but it’s just so brown.  My Thanksgiving menu was needing some vivid color to round out the other loaves, casseroles and green vegetables.  And the old sweet potato and marshmallow dish is just not for me.

Since going vegan I’ve had to acknowledge that I just don’t care much for roasted sweet potatoes or butternut squash.   David makes a sweet and spicy butternut squash soup that the family loves.  I’m not a fan of that either, and I finally figured out that I prefer a more savory soup.  I recently tried both squash soup and sweet potato soup at our favorite vegan restaurant here in Tucson and they were both delicious.  So I set out to find a similar recipe.

Well tis the season for orange soups so there was no shortage of possible recipes.  The recipe I decided to go with is here.  The soup is supposed to be served with some wild rice spooned on top, but since this was a trial run I sprinkled some toasted pine nuts and cinnamon on top instead.

This recipe is crazy easy to prepare– I used one pot and a blender.  For two servings, the ingredients include one baked sweet potato, half an onion, garlic, vegetable broth, unsweetened almond milk,  curry powder (mine has a kick) and garam masala.  While I’m used to sautéing my onions and garlic before making just about anything I was surprised to learn that I could create a similar effect by simmering them in the vegetable broth.  This means that there’s not a drop of oil in the dish.  While I don’t worry much about oil when I cook I know that some folks prefer to leave it out.  This approach worked beautifully and once pureed, the onions still added their signature sweet flavor.  Good to know.  A less wonderful part of the recipe is that it doesn’t include any salt, perhaps also for those on a more restricted diet.  Oh, I think soup really needs salt!  I added some sea salt a bit at a time to bring out the other flavors.  It seemed like a pretty important addition.

This creamy and spicy soup is a winner.  It’s definitely “savory” but the natural sweetness is still there.  I think it will make a beautiful addition to our meal, and I can prepare it on Wednesday.  Score and score.

Anne, here it is, as promised 🙂

4 thoughts on “How We’ll Be Eating Our Sweet Potatoes This Year

Leave a Reply

