Caesar Salad To Die For…And It’s Vegan!

DSCN2206

Oh. My. Goodness.

I’ve never actually made Caesar Salad before although I love it, and I used to order it all the time before going vegan.  The creamy dressing, the croutons, the cheese, and I didn’t even mind a few hidden anchovies.  Frankly, the idea of making Caesar Salad at home always seemed too daunting.  But when Angela at “Oh She Glows” shared her recipe here I knew I had to give it a try.

Well, the results were amazing!  There are three parts to this recipe, not including the greens (romaine and a bit of kale).  These include:

Roasted chickpeas:

DSCN2205

Well these babies were a revelation!  Canned chickpeas roasted with a touch of olive oil, salt and garlic powder.  After about 35 minutes they become crunchy–a perfect substitute for croutons.  Come to think of it, there’s nothing particularly non-vegan about croutons but these were so much better and of course, better for you!  They reminded me of corn nuts.  So delicious.  I’m looking forward to roasting some just for snacking.  After I had my first taste I was surprised I was able to leave some for the salad!

Next up is the vegan dressing:

DSCN2201

This blended dressing begins with a raw cashew cream. The other ingredients include garlic, lemon juice, dijon mustard, capers, vegan worcestershire sauce and spices.  The combination is so like a traditional Caesar dressing, I really couldn’t believe there were no eggs.  But nope, not a one.   Fabulous.

The last ingredient is the parmesan cheese substitute:

DSCN2203

This is a ground-up mix of raw cashews and sesame seeds (oops, just realized I used sunflower seeds..worked anyway!) , hulled hemp seeds (had to track those down in Whole Foods) and nutritional yeast (that cheesy flavor).  I guess the sesame (not sunflower)  seeds would have created a different texture , but this mix still provided the cheesy flavor I expect in a good Caesar salad.

This salad went beautifully with our mushroom buckwheat soup and will be a regular in our rotation.  Here’s a look at the salad dished up and ready to be devoured:

DSCN2209

I actually halved the recipe, and this was plenty for me and David for dinner, but I think I went a little light on the dressing.  Next time I plan to load it up.  I figure that given these healthy ingredients, you really can’t have too much of a good thing.

Another reason why I love being vegan 🙂

4 thoughts on “Caesar Salad To Die For…And It’s Vegan!

  1. Oh my gosh! That does look like a revelation. We’ve been making our caesar salad dressing with a vinaigrette made from brown mustard, olive oil, Worcestershire sauce, and tons of fresh pressed garlic, croutons, and of course no eggs and no cheese. But THIS!! I can’t wait to serve it to my kids. I am certain they will love it. Thanks for another great share.

    Like

Leave a Reply

