Sunday Night Scramble and Perfect Cupcakes

DSCN2264

I have to admit that when I first heard about “tofu scrambles” I thought it sounded downright odd.  I like tofu prepared all kinds of ways, but I just couldn’t envision it “scrambled”.  I’m glad I finally gave it a try because this tofu scramble has quickly become a regular dish on the weekend rotation.   It’s fast to prepare with ingredients I usually have on hand (today I didn’t, but my sous-chef extraordinaire ran out to the supermarket to buy them), and after weekends that usually involve some mix of hiking, socializing, eating out and hours of football on TV (yay Cardinals!),  I’m ready to keep it simple on Sunday night.

These recipes are all over the internet, but I chose a “southwest” version from The Minimalist Baker.  You can check out the recipe here.  This is a one skillet dish.  Sauté the veggies, sauté the tofu and drizzle on a liquid spice blend (cumin, chili powder, salt, garlic powder, turmeric and water).  Toss it all together, heat it through and you’re done!  Since we’re dealing with tofu here, you can’t really over or undercook it– much more forgiving than eggs.  And the flavors that make a great traditional scramble work equally well here.  We served it up with some grainy toast and salad but it would also make a great “breakfast for dinner” burrito.  The possibilities are endless.

For dessert we dug into this:

DSCN2257

Oh yeah.

Our grandson, Sky, turned five this week, and today we celebrated his birthday with him.  He requested cupcakes so, of course, I obliged.  The chocolate cake/vanilla icing was his choice.  I’m not a huge cupcake baker but I can say with certainty that this is a killer recipe.  We were all licking our fingers.  I used a recipe from Oh She Glows (you can find it here).  No eggs but a whole lot of chocolate flavor and perfect moist texture.

For the frosting I went back to The Minimalist Baker.  This is a classic “buttercream” using a stick of Earth Balance instead of the butter.  The recipe is here.  It whipped up beautifully and was just the right amount of (super) sweet.  I always did prefer the classics at birthday time.  We sent the leftovers home with Jeff and Sky but we saved one cupcake to share (enough sugar already!):

DSCN2269

So so good.  These cupcakes are not gluten-free.  I recently discovered that my beloved “Cup for Cup” gluten-free flour contains milk protein so I’m on the hunt for another reliable gluten-free flour.  I’ve read that Bob’s Red Mill now makes a cup-for-cup flour but it hasn’t made it to our Whole Foods yet.  I do plan to try it.  For now, though, I’m okay using regular organic all-purpose.

A recipe like this comes in handy this time of year.  Show up with a platter of these cupcakes to your holiday celebration or office party and everyone (vegan and non-) will thank you.  I promise.

 

2 thoughts on “Sunday Night Scramble and Perfect Cupcakes

Leave a Reply

