Going Away, Coming Home

Well, well, it’s been ten days since my last post!  I took a vacation from life and blogging while we were away in lovely Cancun enjoying  sunny weather, pool lounging, meditation, reading and lots of great vegan food.  Here’s a look at the view from our balcony:

DSCN2286

Sigh.  Oh man, you really can’t have too much of that.

We had been to this same boutique resort last year (pre-vegan) and loved it.  We expected that the resort (Zoetry Paraiso de la Bonita) would provide us with vegan meals because it is also a wellness spa. Plus, we let them know in advance that we are vegan. They assured us they would make it work.  And they really did!  In fact, each night we were treated by the excellent chef to a four-course gourmet vegan dinner.  We let the chef do his thing, and results were wonderful.  Soups, unique salads, risotto, pasta and more.  We were reminded on this vacation that accomplished chefs enjoy cooking great food (vegan or otherwise) for appreciative diners.  And we were so grateful that we could enjoy a tropical vacation and amazing vegan food at the same time.  A win-win.

Cold, cold temperatures greeted us when we arrived back home on Friday night.  Since a hard frost was expected, David ran out to the garden to grab the veggies that were ready to be picked before the freeze.  In the dark he cut piles of kale, arugula and romaine, a handful of tomatoes and peppers and this baby:

DSCN2302

Oh my.  We planted several cauliflower plants and some were starting to bear fruit but I was completely unprepared for the size of this guy.  Must have liked those cooler temps.  Actually, David brought in two big heads of cauliflower, but one of them quickly ended up in this:

DSCN2294

This is a simple, luscious cauliflower soup with a dollop of pesto on top.  The recipe actually comes from this book:

DSCN2304

David and I picked this up on impulse while we were shopping for Hanukkah gifts, and this was the first dish we tried.  It was a winner.  I’m really not much of a cauliflower fan (memories of steamed cauliflower at some holiday dinner or other) but this soup was quite wonderful.  The ingredients are super simple- onion, garlic, veggie broth, cauliflower, lemon juice (this was key) and water.  The cauliflower gets cooked in the broth with the onions and garlic and then the whole thing is pureed.  The water and lemon juice are added last and the pesto gets spooned in before serving.

The “classic pesto” is also from this book, and it’s a typical recipe minus the cheese.  It was a wee bit salty (which I will adjust next time), but it added a lovely burst of flavor as well as color to the soup.  Very good.  I’m not sure what we will do with our other head of cauliflower…maybe try some of the “buffalo wings” I’ve been reading about.

While it was wonderful to go on vacation and have someone else prepare my vegan meals for a while, I’m glad to be back in my own kitchen messing around with new ingredients and recipes.

It also feels good to get back to my blog 🙂

 

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “Going Away, Coming Home

  1. Can you believe that I just made a cauliflower soup for the very first time myself on Sunday night? Enjoyed it Sunday, last night and will likely finish it off tonight. If you have extra cauliflower, it’s wonderful just roasted in the oven with balsamic vinegar, sea salt and a little pepper. Yum and so easy.

    Like

  2. Funny coincidence! Regarding the roasted, I think I need my cauliflower a little more “hidden”. In general it’s not my favorite veg. I find I like many more veggies mixed up with other ingredients in soup or even just raw. Plus, like you said you can eat soup for days…

    Like

  3. Ooh, I’m going to try that cauliflower soup–I’m a fan. My favorite cauliflower preparations are either aloo gobi style Indian-spiced, or the Barefoot Contessa mustard roasted (still vegan, I believe!).

    Like

Leave a Reply

