My New Favorite Veggie Burger

DSCN2367

This is not the first veggie burger I’m writing about and I doubt it will be my last, but so far it’s definitely my favorite.

This is a sweet potato and black bean burger that I saw a few days ago on Minimalistbaker.com and it looked so delicious that I had to get right to it.  Actually, I was able to get right to it because it uses ingredients that I already had on hand–sweet potatoes, black beans (I used canned), brown rice, walnuts, scallions, cumin, smoked paprika, chipotle powder, salt and pepper. The link for the recipe is here.

These burgers come together very easily and are baked which means almost no oil and very easy clean up.  All good.  The burgers have some kick but are not too spicy, and they have a nice firm texture.   I ate mine on a pile of greens, and David had his on an English muffin with a big slab of avocado:

DSCN2369

The Miso Mayo has been in our fridge for a while:

DSCN2371

The burgers are kind of Southwest and the Miso Mayo is kind of Asian but hey, it worked.  You can really doctor these burgers up any way you like.  I’ll be trying different combinations because I have a bunch of leftovers.  Leftovers are very good.

I pretty much followed this recipe as written except that I used canned beans, upped the salt to 1/2 tsp ( 3/4 tsp would have worked even better) and I made each burger 1/3 cup size instead of the recommended 1/4 cup which makes more of a slider size.  I did learn a neat technique for forming the burgers.  The recipe suggests lining your measuring cup with plastic wrap, filling the cup with the raw burger mixture (which is delicious btw) and inverting the cup over the baking sheet.  When the burger drops down onto the sheet with the plastic wrap on top you can gently press on the plastic wrap to form the burger.  I meant to take some photos of this but I was too busy being enamored with this simple technique to remember the camera.  Here’s a shot of the burgers ready to go in the oven:

DSCN2365

Much neater than my usual “eyeball it” technique.

These burgers are satisfying and incredibly nutritious.  Actually, I think the truth is that these burgers are satisfying because they are nutritious.  Since becoming vegan I’ve definitely experienced a shift in what I crave.  While I still have my bits and bites of sweet desserts and I love my coffee (decaf now!) sweet and creamy, most of what I crave is what’s good for my body–colorful veggies and fruits (have you tried sumo tangerines?), beans, lentils and whole grains.

It feels amazing to have taken the steps to make such a significant change for the better–better for myself, better for the animals and better for the environment.

4 thoughts on “My New Favorite Veggie Burger

Leave a Reply

