Recipe of the Week

DSCN2474 Italian Apple Cake!

We’ve been vegan for several months now, and little by little we replaced old favorite dishes with new favorite dishes. We’ve figured out how to throw quickie meals together, eat one dish for three days and even entertain a bit.  It’s really been quite a tasty adventure.

While I haven’t lost my enthusiasm for cooking great vegan food, I have settled into a bit of a comfortable cooking routine.  This is a very good thing.  I love that being vegan has become second nature–my pantry is stocked with most of what I need, and I no longer spend hours wandering around Whole Foods trying to find various ingredients.  The fifteen minute food shop has finally become a reality!

That being said, at least once or twice a week I deliberately try some new recipes, both to keep learning and to inject some variety into our diet. So rather than continue with the “what we had for dinner today” approach (um, you’ve already seen most of what we’ve been eating for dinner lately) on this blog, I decided to offer up one recipe each week that we think is worth sharing. And that brings us to this delicious Italian Apple Cake. DSCN2472 Last night we had friends over for dinner and the menu included lasagna, caesar salad (both from Oh She Glows) and some crusty bread.  I wanted to find a simple, not too sweet, non-chocolate (one of our guests couldn’t eat chocolate) cake that would work well with the rest of the meal.  I settled on another recipe from Chloe Coscarelli and you can find it here.

If you tend to keep apples around (the cake only uses 3) you probably have all the ingredients you need to throw this together.  You layer some thinly sliced apples on the bottom of the pan (that odd crinkly design on mine is from the parchment paper–bring on the powdered sugar!) and press the batter on top.  The batter really has more of dough-like consistency but the apples give off lots of moisture as the cake cooks.  The recipe doesn’t specify what kind of apples to use so I used granny smith.  This worked out well texture-wise and didn’t make the cake too sweet.

This fruity and light cake was just enough after a filling meal.  We all thoroughly enjoyed it.

I’m looking forward to sharing more “recipes of the week”.  Please stay tuned…

9 thoughts on “Recipe of the Week

  1. Mm…this reminds me of a pineapple upside down cake my mom makes every Christmas, only this looks way better! I will test on my kids non-vegan friends. They’ll never know what hit ’em. 😀

    Granny Smiths is what I’ll use as that’s what I keep on hand (they’re always the cheapest organic apple).

    Like

Leave a Reply

