No More Show and Tell

I made an adorable baby sweater and I started to write a post about it.  Here’s a picture of the sweater:

DSCN2464 - Version 2

I loved making this sweater for my friend’s new granddaughter.  I’m sure the baby will look adorable in this.  I hope they all love it.  Enough said.

As I was writing the blog post about the sweater I realized that it wasn’t what I really wanted to write about.  It’s fun to make something, post about it and have readers offer up compliments.  That feels great.  And while I still spend a great deal of time in various creative activities, this is not what I’m thinking about.  I’m thinking about veganism.  Regular readers of this blog probably do not think that this is a great big “reveal”.  After all, veganism is pretty much all I’ve been writing about for months.  And here’s why…

My veganism is not a “diet”– it’s a lifestyle. It’s a lifestyle centered around the idea that it is morally wrong to enslave, torture and murder animals.  It is a lifestyle that reflects a true concern for the environment and sustainability. It’s a lifestyle that means I take responsibility for my own health to the very best of my ability.  Veganism is about kindness and compassion.  And I want to write about that.

So far in my own journey I’ve learned how to cook great vegan food, and I’ve shared many favorite dishes.  While there’s an element of “show and tell” about that, I will continue to do this with the hope that others might feel inclined to give veganism a try.  My dearest friend, Lisa, followed my vegan journey on this blog.  She started reading books and watching movies and in a matter of months went vegan.  I feel very grateful that both my husband and best friend are vegan.  The support is invaluable.  I hope to provide that support to others who might not have their nearest and dearest on board.

So far this all sounds pretty “kumbaya” but being vegan in the world often feels nothing like that.  With the exception of my daughter, members of my immediate family and family of origin have expressed little to no interest in my being vegan even though it is central to my life.  I have one friend who, upon hearing I was now vegan (no details, just that), completely shut down the conversation.  I haven’t heard from her since.  I want to write openly about this painful reality and help others navigate these challenges.  Understanding is not always found in the places we expect but it is always worth seeking.

I know I want to make a difference for the animals and the planet.  Being vegan and encouraging others to do the same is how I can do that today.  Topically, I’m not sure what I will be writing about next, but I do know that I will write from the heart and speak my truth.  And I doubt it will be all sweetness and light. After all, what’s happening with the animals, the environment and our collective health is painful, destructive and scary.

As I write about these things I expect that I will often feel very vulnerable.  And at times my words might unintentionally cause defensiveness in others.   I’m willing to accept that reality.

I hope you will join me on this journey toward greater kindness and compassion.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “No More Show and Tell

  1. Lisa, we LOVED it!! Thank you so much for the gift, for taking The time to make something so beautiful for Aleyah. Xoxoxo God bless☺

    Like

Leave a Reply

