Recipe of the Week

DSCN2617 - Version 2

Tofu Tikka Masala!

This dish is a take off on Paneer Tikka Masala, which I’ve never actually had.  I have had Chicken Tikka Masala which was one of my favorite Indian dishes in my pre-vegan life.  I figured that the firm tofu would work well and I was excited to try to replicate some of the delicious flavors of the dish I enjoyed.  The result was a tasty and authentic Indian dish, but not quite the same as the restaurant version.  I found the recipe for this dish on the One Green Planet website and you can take a look at it here.

I made this dish pretty much as written.  I did add a fair amount of salt and the juice of half a lemon for some much-needed acid. I had to track down some spices (cardamom pods and fenugreek seeds), but I had the rest of the long list of spices on hand.  And of course, this dish is all about the spices, sautéed in a bit of oil “until a nice aroma fills the kitchen”.  That nice aroma is likely to be filling my kitchen for the next few days 🙂

I was most impressed with the creamy consistency of this Tikka Masala.  This is all achieved using only one teaspoon of oil and a quarter cup of soy yogurt for marinating the tofu and peppers.  Like many “creamy” vegan dishes the creaminess comes from blending the slowly-cooked vegetables and spices in a high speed blender.  No butter or cream in sight.  Kind to the animals and much better for our health.

Flavor-wise I liked this dish but I think I can do better with it next time.  First, I would leave out the cinnamon stick.  This might be less authentic, but I’m just not a fan of cinnamon in savory dishes.  I should know this about myself already but I keep trying.  If this doesn’t bother you, keep the cinnamon in there.  Second, I think I cooked the spices a bit too long.  While I didn’t think they were burning I detected a slight bitterness.  Plus the color of the sauce was deeper than I expected, and I think it was from the same problem.

So I recommend this recipe.  If you have more experience cooking Indian food than I do (i.e. you can do better with the spices)  give this a try.  It’s a lot of satisfying flavor and creamy texture in a surprisingly healthy dish.

6 thoughts on “Recipe of the Week

  1. That looks delicious. It’s interesting that you say it didn’t taste like the restaurant version; maybe try this one with tofu instead of chicken? http://www.thekitchn.com/recipe-slow-cooker-chicken-tikka-masala-recipes-from-the-kitchn-211284 I made it a few months ago and except for the protein, it’s completely vegan (it says cream or coconut milk–I used coconut milk, my new favorite ingredient!). It also used a lot fewer spices and tasted perfect.

    Like

    • Let me know how it turns out! Also, just a tip–you can skip marinating your protein in yogurt (in the recipe where it says “if you have time”–I didn’t bother), but I recommend sauteeing the onions beforehand (the other “if you have time”). 🙂

      Like

  2. We cook with Indian and Lebanese spices a LOT because of the way the kitchen smells afterward. My kids have gotten quite used to the ‘kick’ my dishes give with the chili peppers (a health food, by the way). This looks fab. Will give it a go as soon as I get some soy yogurt (which I don’t normally keep). Cheers!

    Like

Leave a Reply

