Recipe of the Week

DSCN3089

Balela!

We haven’t made too many new recipes lately.  During the hot summer we’ve been eating mostly salads with some combination of greens, grains, beans, hummus and avocado.  When we were taking refuge from the heat at Costco (is that anyone else’s favorite weekend errand?) we found a big container of Balela and it quickly became a favorite of David’s.  So I decided to find a recipe online and make it myself.  This way we can control how much oil and salt goes into the mix.

Have you heard of Balela?   Balela  is a Mediterranean-style bean salad.  The basic recipe is a combination of garbanzo and black beans, tomatoes (the Costco version had sun-dried), red onion, mint and parsley.  The dressing is a zesty emulsion of olive oil, lemon juice, garlic and jalapeño pepper which has a lovely kick.  The recipe I used is here.  It makes enough for an army so we’ll be eating it for the next week (score!).  This would also make a great Labor Day weekend salad for a crowd.

Even though school is already back in session in Tucson (those poor kids!),  it still feels like summer to me.  I will keep sunning, swimming and eating salads.  If you’re still eating salads where you are, give this one a try.  And let me know how you like it!

4 thoughts on “Recipe of the Week

  1. This looks absolutely amazing! I will let you know once I’ve given it a try. Hopefully some time soon. How’s the nutrition class? The cooking class is surprisingly educational.

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

    Like

    • Thanks Diana! I hope you like it. I just finished the first class of the three. It’s been great. Definitely solidifying my knowledge and understanding. I’m looking forward to hearing about your class and what’s been new for you.

      Like

  2. Like pico de gallo, guacamole, or quinoa salads, this is best made fresh with your own ingredients. I love anything fresh. I’m not a fan of cooking in the heat of summer; fresh is the best part of being vegan!

    Like

Leave a Reply

